Scientists assess IFOY finalists

(PresseBox) ( Ismaning near Munich/Hannover, )

• Researchers Prof. Dr. Rainer Bruns, Guido Follert, Prof. Dr. Johannes Fottner and Prof. Dr. Thorsten Schmidt evaluated the 15 nominated products and solutions for the independent IFOY Innovation Check in the test hall of IFOY partner Deutsche Messe AG.
• The IFOY Innovation Check serves 29 international jurors as a decision-making aid for their vote in the world's largest intralogistics competition.

On 4 March 2019, four renowned logistics scientists successfully carried out the IFOY Innovation Check in a hall of the IFOY partner Deutsche Messe AG in Hannover, Germany. The researchers tested a total of 15 products and solutions from a dozen manufacturers and looked at the innovative value. These products and solutions had been nominated by a jury for the 7th International Intralogistics and Forklift Truck of the Year-AWARD, (IFOY AWARD). New developments from Cargometer, Clark, Combilift, Hubtex, Jungheinrich, Raymond, SAE, Still, Torwegge, UniCarriers, ProGlove and Trône Seating were tested by the research quartet.

The one-day IFOY Innovation Check was attended by Prof. Dr. Rainer Bruns, Chair of Machine Elements and Technical Logistics at Helmut Schmidt University, Guido Follert, Head of the Machinery and Systems Department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML, Prof. Dr. Thorsten Schmidt, Chair of Technical Logistics at Dresden Technical University and Prof. Dr. Johannes Fottner, Chair of Materials Handling Material Flow Logistics (fml) at Munich Technical University.

The independent IFOY Innovation Check is part of a three-part audit during the IFOY TEST DAYS, which will take place this year from March 1 to 8. The IFOY Innovation Check Team with its many years of experience knocked the nominees down to the four criteria:

• Market relevance,
• customer benefit,
• degree of novelty and
• type of implementation.

As orientation for the jurors, the scientists used a five-stage evaluation scale for their assessment. The individual levels are: “non-existent”, “less”, “balanced”, “good” and “very good”.

The task of the four experts was to compare the newly developed devices and solutions with competing products already available on the market and to record differences in technology. After all, one of the most important rules of the intralogistics competition is that the jury may not compare the nominated devices in a category with each other, but with their respective competing products that are already available for purchase or rent.

For the IFOY Innovation Check, the quartet of researchers analysed the written documents for the IFOY application and compared the functions and properties of the devices described therein with the state of the art. The innovations emphasized by the intralogistics providers were reproduced on site using visual and functional tests. During the evaluation, both innovative further developments and successful new compositions as well as genuine innovations were identified and evaluated.

The results of the IFOY Innovation Check will be given to the members of the jury, who will travel to the IFOY TEST DAYS on 7 and 8 March, together with the results of the practice-oriented IFOY test by Dutch intralogistics expert Theo Egberts. Before the jurors cast their final vote, they also test the nominated equipment and solutions themselves.

The overall result of the intralogistics Oscars will, apart from the jurors, not be revealed to anyone before the award ceremony. The festive IFOY AWARD NIGHT will take place for the first time in Austria in 2019 – on April 26 in the Vienna Hofburg.


The International Intralogistics and Forklift Truck of the Year (IFOY AWARD) recognises the year's best intralogistics products and system solutions. The aim of the organisation is to document the performance capability and innovative drive of the intralogistics, helping to boost competitiveness and raise the profile of the entire sector in the public arena. The winners of the IFOY AWARD are selected once a year by an independent jury of international trade journalists. The sponsor of the IFOY AWARD is the VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Sector Association. The IFOY partner is Deutsche Messe AG in Hannover. IFOY pallet partner is CHEP, the global market leader in pallet pooling. The IFOY technology partner is the battery charging specialist Fronius. The headquarters of the IFOY organisation are in Ismaning near Munich.

Members of the jury: Kirsty Adams, editor-in-chief SHD Logistics (UK), Vladimir Antonov, editor-in-chief Sklad i Technika (Russia), Winfried Bauer, editor-in-chief f+h Fördertechnik, Materialfluss, Logistik 4.0 (Germany), Cecilia Biondi, editor-inchief Logistica Management (Italy), Snejina Badjeva, editor-in-chief Logistika magazine (Bulgaria), Dave Blanchard, editorin- chief Material Handling & Logistics / Industry Week (USA), Theo Egberts, IFOY tester and owner Buro Andersom / Andersom Testing (Netherlands, without voting rights), Paul Hamblin, editor-in-chief Logistics Business (United Kingdom), Anders Karlsson, editor-in-chief Svensk Åkeritidning (Sweden), Klaus Koch, editor-in-chief Logistik&Fördertechnik, Handel Heute (Switzerland), Allan Leibowitz, editor-in-chief (Australia), Valeria Lima de Azevedo Nammur, editorin- chief LogWeb Magazine (Brazil), Øyvind Ludt, editor-in-chief Moderne Transport (Norway), Bernd Maienschein, editor-inchief MM Logistik (Germany), Marilena Matei, editorial director Tranzit / Tranzit Logistica (Romania), Anton Mizunov, editorin- chief Skladskoj complex (Russia), Maurizio Peruzzi, editor-in-chief Il Giornale della Logistica (Italy), Matthias Pieringer, editor-in-chief Logistik Heute (Germany), Szilvia Rapi-Jaubert, publisher and editor-in-chief Supply Chain Monitor (Hungary), Isabel Rodrigo, editor-in-chief Logística Profesional (Spain), Thomas Rosenberger, editor-in-chief lastauto omnibus (Germany), Hans-Joachim Schlobach, publisher and editor-in-chief Business+Logistic (Austria), Sascha Schmel, managing director association materials handling and intralogistics in the VDMA (Germany, without voting rights), Sebastian Śliwieński, editor-in-chief Warehouse Monitor (Poland), Gilles Solard, publisher and editor-in-chief Stratégies Logistique (France), Jarlath Sweeney, editor-in-chief Fleet transport (Ireland), Johannes Tomsich, editorial director Logistik-Kurier (Austria), Mats Udikas, editor-in-chief Transportnytt (Sweden). The executive chairperson of the jury is Anita Würmser, logistics journalist and managing director of impact media projects.
Für die oben stehenden Pressemitteilungen, das angezeigte Event bzw. das Stellenangebot sowie für das angezeigte Bild- und Tonmaterial ist allein der jeweils angegebene Herausgeber (siehe Firmeninfo bei Klick auf Bild/Meldungstitel oder Firmeninfo rechte Spalte) verantwortlich. Dieser ist in der Regel auch Urheber der Pressetexte sowie der angehängten Bild-, Ton- und Informationsmaterialien.
Die Nutzung von hier veröffentlichten Informationen zur Eigeninformation und redaktionellen Weiterverarbeitung ist in der Regel kostenfrei. Bitte klären Sie vor einer Weiterverwendung urheberrechtliche Fragen mit dem angegebenen Herausgeber. Bei Veröffentlichung senden Sie bitte ein Belegexemplar an